Science Project Update

A bit over two weeks ago, I had started a “science” project to determine the germination period and conditions for pine cone seeds. It was actually the 18th of November. On the 27th, I already disposed of all 15 seeds from the mini greenhouse and four from the cubby. The ones in the fridge looked best.
Today, I checked again and most of the ones in the fridge had developed mildew. I saved four and put them into my last soil.

Stone pine seeds from the cubby

Stone pine seeds from the cubby

Stone pine seeds from the cellar

Stone pine seeds from the cellar

Yikes! Obviously, I dumped the ones form the cellar. The tissue paper was completely dried out. At least, now I know that my cellar is dry. I put the ones in the cubby back. Better not disturb them. It is rather cold there, depending on the temperature outdoors.

By the way, I used my last soil and last pot for the pine stone seeds. I had a pomegranate from Turkey some days ago and saved some seeds. I already have pomegranate saplings, but they are dwarf pomegranate (Punica granatum nana) and the one I ate is probably not the dwarf type. I don’t know which variety it is, I only know that the ones I saw in Turkey seemed to have a more intensive red color than this one.

One thought on “Science Project Update

  1. Pingback: New Seeds: Ginkgo – Ginkgo biloba | Mediterranean Bonsai

Leave a Reply

