Selfmade Pots and More Seeds Germinating

Some days ago, I ate that pomegranate and kept some seeds – 29, to be precise. I wanted to sow them, but I had no pots left. However, I had eaten some Greek style yoghurt which came in nice flat plastic bowls. So, instead of dumping them, I made pots of them. They’re flatter than the pots I bought, which I think is of an advantage, because their roots won’t become as deep as the ones before. And bonsai trees don’t need deep roots anyway.


You need: yoghurt bowls, hand screw driver,
old piece of wood, Stanley knife

Drill some holes into the bottom of the
yoghurt bowl for drainage.
Use the piece of wood to prevent
your table to get spoiled.

As soon as the drill has penetrated
the bottom, you can take  the bowl into
your hand and finish making the hole.

Make as many holes as you like.
More are probably better than less.

If you like, you can leave those thingies
as they are, otherwise…

…use the Stanley knife to carefully
cut them off.

I let the 29 pomegranate seeds in warm water overnight and put 14 in soil into one of the thus made pots and 15 into the other. I couldn’t get all the fruit stuff of them, so I hope that they won’t mildew.

Some of the seeds from the first batch have started germinating. One pomegranate and two myrtle. I thought they were done germinating and had already collected about 10 of the “dead” pomegranate seeds and dumped them. Some of them might have germinated still. Well, too late.

Leave a Reply

