New Seeds: Almond (Prunus dulcis)

Where to Get Almond Seeds

I don’t remember how it came to me, probably while eating almonds, but I had the idea to try and grow almond trees from seeds. I thought about where to get almond seeds. The obvious idea was to get it from the baking department of the supermarket. But then, who knows how long they would’ve been in the shelf. On the other hand, I thought, the weeks right after Christmas would be the ideal time, because many almonds are sold during Christmas time and the supermarket probably just restocked. So I bought a bag of organic almond seeds (with skin). But I remembered that sometimes they are sold with their shell still around. So I went to an organic supermarket and got five of these.

How to get almonds to germinate

Then, I thought that the shells seemed really hard and that I should try and crack them at least a tiny bit. That’s why I bought a nut cracker last week! However, it (or I) wasn’t strong enough to crack them with the nut cracker, so I took my good old mortar and pestle and hit them hard. Too hard, because I didn’t manage just to crack the shell a bit – all of them where shattered. I even crushed some almonds. But those fed me well. I had 5 shells with 7 almonds, but could only use 3 further.

soaked almonds

Soaked Almonds

I watched some videos of people who had more or less successfully gotten almonds to germinate and tried to follow the instructions of the more successful attempts. I soaked the almonds in water for four days and then put them into potting compost with the pointed end down.

I put the ones from the shells into bio-degradable pots and the “baking almonds” into a plastic bowl. I had cut some holes in the bottom and put the perforated bowl into another bowl, so the water could drain. Don’t let the photographs fool you – I added a layer of soil onto those pots.

Now waiting time begins. Some people wrote about three months of germination period for almonds. I hope that’s not true! We’ll see and I will keep you updated.

Almonds as Part of the Prunus Genus

When I did some research on Wikipedia on Almonds, I found out that they belong to the Prunus genus- as do peaches, apricots, cherries, plums, cherry laurel, and blackthorn. It’s a vast genus! And so many of them are delicious.

Leave a Reply

