Germinated Apples Seed (Close-up)

When I prepared a fruit salad for my sister today with apples (Granny Smiths), some of the seeds inside had already germinated. Is that common? I almost never buy fruit for myself, and I haven’t come across it before.

apple seed

Germinated Apple Seed

Apparently, they don’t have some chemical in their coating to prevent them from germinating like citrus fruits have. I will try to get the others to germinate, too, and grow seedlings. Just to add some information to my germination table. However, I will dump them after a while, because my goal was to grow Mediterranean seeds. I just can’t resist any seeds now. 😀

Leave a Reply

